IEEE Future Networks World Forum
13–15 November 2023 // Baltimore, MD, USA
Imagining the Network of the Future

TV5: Advancing Open-RAN: Research, Standards, and Deployment

Date and Time



  • Ashutosh Dutta, Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Labs (JHU/APL), USA
  • Ivan Seskar, Rutgers University WINLAB, USA
  • Mithun Mukherjee, Nanjing University of Information Science and Technology, China

Panelists and Invited Speakers

  • Luiz Dasilva, Virginia Tech
  • Rudra Dutta, NC State
  • Reza Vaez-Ghaemi, Viavi Solutions
  • N. Shankar, Rutgers University
  • Ajay Rajkumar, AT&T

Short Bio of Moderators and Panelists

Luiz DaSilva is the Bradley Professor of Cybersecurity at Virginia Tech. He serves as the inaugural Executive Director of the Commonwealth Cyber Initiative, a consortium of 42 institutions of higher education in Virginia with a mission of research, innovation, and workforce development in cybersecurity. Prof. DaSilva previously held the chair of Telecommunications at Trinity College Dublin, Ireland, where he led CONNECT, a research center in future networks involving ten universities in Ireland. He is a Fellow of the IEEE for contributions to cognitive networks and wireless resource management. He has also been a Fellow of Trinity College Dublin, a Distinguished Lecturer of the IEEE Communications Society, and a College of Engineering Faculty Fellow.


Reza has held positions in research, engineering, marketing, and management in telecommunications industry in Germany and the United States. He is responsible for research in 5G xhaul transport and synchronization networks. He also serves as the vendor Co-Chair at O-RAN Xhaul Transport Working Group. He has published numerous papers and contributed to several books as a co-author. He received his BS, MS, and PhD in Electronics and Electrical Engineering from Technical University of Berlin (Germany).




Ashutosh Dutta is currently Chief 5G Strategist and JHU/APL Sabbatical Fellow at Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Labs (JHU/APL), USA. He also serves as Chair for Electrical and Computer Engineering for Engineering Professional Program at JHU. His career, spanning more than 30 years, includes Director of Technology Security and Lead Member of Technical Staff at AT&T, CTO of Wireless at a Cybersecurity company NIKSUN, Inc., Senior Scientist in Telcordia Research, Director of Central Research Facility at Columbia University, adjunct faculty at NJIT, and Computer Engineer with TATA Motors. Ashutosh is author of more than 100 technical papers and 31 issued patents. Ashutosh is co-author of the book, titled, “Mobility Protocols and Handover Optimization: Design, Evaluation and Application” published by IEEE and John & Wiley. As a Technical Leader in 5G and security, Ashutosh has been serving as the founding Co-Chair for the IEEE Future Networks Initiative that focuses on 5G standardization, education, publications, testbed, and roadmap activities. Ashutosh is IEEE Communications Society's Distinguished Lecturer for 2017-2020 and as an ACM Distinguished Speaker (2020-2022). Ashutosh currently serves as the founding co-chair for IEEE Future Networks Initiative and Member-At-Large for IEEE Communications Society. He co-founded the IEEE STEM conference (ISEC) and helped to implement EPICS (Engineering Projects in Community Service) projects in several high schools. Ashutosh has served as the general Co-Chair for the IEEE STEM conference for the last 10 years. Ashutosh served as the Director of Industry Outreach for IEEE Communications Society from 2014-2019. He was recipient of 2009 IEEE MGA Leadership award. Ashutosh is recipient of IEEE-USA’s 2010 Professional Leadership Award, 2022 IEEE-USA George F. McClure Citation of Honor. He also received 2022 IEEE North American Region Exceptional Service Award. Ashutosh served as Member-At-Large for IEEE Communications Society for 2020-2022. Ashutosh has served as the founding Co-Chair for the premier IEEE 5G World Forums and has organized 85 5G World Summits around the world. Ashutosh currently serves as the Chair for IEEE Industry Connection’s O-RAN activities and IPv6. Ashutosh is a Distinguished Alumnus of NIT Rourkela with BS in Electrical Engineering, MS in Computer Science from NJIT, and Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering from Columbia University under the supervision of Prof. Henning Schulzrinne. Ashutosh is a Fellow of IEEE and Distinguished member ACM.



Financial Co-Sponsors

Technical Co-Sponsors